One of the controversial topics in the United States is cannabis, including CBD oil. Is it already legal? What’s the difference between CBD or marijuana? For those living in Utah, there are answers to the most common cannabis-related questions:
- Is It Illegal to Buy CBD in Utah?
The answer is no, Utahns may still buy the product from a CBD store in Sandy, Utah, and other cities or counties in the state. But the laws that govern it can be confusing, so let’s break them down.
In 2018, the farmer’s act changed the commerce of CBD products. It removed hemp from the list of scheduled substances. It means that as long as the CBD product comes from hemp, one may already buy it without legal consequences.
At the state level, Utah passed a law that now allows the use of cannabis for a medical reason. Patients will then receive a card, which they need to present to a state-authorized dispensary. It means they can purchase either CBD oil or weed with more than 3% THC.
What about those who want to buy CBD oil without any of the recognized conditions? They may still get one as long as it contains less than 3% THC.
- Why Does THC Matter?
To answer this question is to learn more about cannabinoids. These are substances that cannabis plants and hemp produce. There are different types of them, but two of the most popular (and most studied) are tetrahydrocannabinol (THC) and cannabidiol (CBD).
Both of these, like other cannabinoids, work with the body’s endocannabinoid system, which contains neurotransmitters. These cannabinoids can then bind to the receptors, allowing the individual to feel the effects.
Between THC and CBD, though, it’s the former that induces a psychoactive effect. In other words, THC makes the person feel high. For this reason, substances that contain THC remain controlled under the law. It also explains why people can buy CBD legally as long as it contains less than 3% THC.
- What’s the Minimum Age for Those Who Can Buy CBD in Utah?
One doesn’t have to be 21 years old before they can buy CBD in the state, but there are caveats. First, those who are 18 years old may get cannabis as long as they have a medical marijuana card.
Minors may also use it as long as they have close supervision from their parents, guardians, or caregivers. Caregivers and other healthcare workers may buy these products for the sick. However, the patient should designate them officially. They can allow two more people to use their cards for specific medical purposes.
- What Are the Different Kinds of CBD Oils?
CBD oils usually fall in the following categories:
Isolate is the purest of the three since it doesn’t contain other cannabinoids besides CBD. It may also be the most ideal for those who are starting out with their use.
A broad-spectrum CBD is a product that contains all the other cannabinoids except THC. It means it doesn’t get a person high, while they can maximize the benefit of cannabinoids.
A full-spectrum CBD, meanwhile, has all the cannabinoids, including THC. However, to be legal, the percentage of it should be less than 3%. It may make someone high, especially if they’re sensitive to the substance, but it may not last a long time.
The rules on cannabis, especially CBD oil, may change over time. Regardless, when planning to use this product, it’s always best to practice prudence. Most of all, it’s wise to buy it from legitimate dispensaries only.